Skip to content

Thought Number 8 A Cool Evening and a Step into the Past

We work late into the evening. It’s a bit if a race to try and get the swathe of nettles down the middle of the cowfield before they seed.

Sometimes a mat of fibrous yellow roots comes away from the damp crumbly soil but that level of attention will have to wait until winter. We’re hoping to encourage a woodland edge flora underneath the outgrown hedge line of hazel and hawthorn– Red Campion, Foxglove, Wood Avens, Cow Parsley, Stitchwort, Hairy Woundwort and Ground Ivy to name a few which are common in this area.

The air feels a cool blue, the moor is purple in the distance and the sky is shot through with vapour trails. I can feel autumn around the corner, there is a papery sound in the sycamores, the tips of their leaves turning a dull brown. A bee is taking shelter in an old post and I can hear the loud rat-tat-tat of a wren in a nearby thicket. I watch a buzzard drop in a vertical plunge toward the ground.

The landscape around here has probably not changed much for centuries, the pattern of small fields, woods and streams have been in place for a good long while, though at one time the woods on the opposite hill were in cultivation. On some days in the winter when the sun catches it at the right moment you can see the skeleton of small strip fields, marked out by larger trees where their boundaries were.

There has definitely been a farm here since the 1600’s, and probably way before that too, as it’s a place with sun on it’s face and a water supply. Being here, you can’t help but think of all the people and animals that have gone before, for everywhere you look is a reminder of the past, from the shape of the land to an iron strap on a barn door or a stone wall made with hands which are long since buried.

And then I feel inexplicably pleased to see the washing on the line….

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. The sense of history and past lives unknown is something I often miss when travelling abroad. Another beautiful post – it made me feel like I was about to start bringing in the washing with you! Please give Cornwall a big hug from me! x

    August 30, 2012
  2. I will. I’m sure you’ll get a soggy one in return 🙂 Are you still roaming the blueberry fields? Thanks for liking my blog so much I think you’re my Number 1 Fan! x

    August 30, 2012
  3. Robin #

    special x

    August 30, 2012
    • Thank you very much! Welcome to my blogworld…I’m slightly obsessed, have you guessed…

      August 30, 2012

I love hearing what you think too...

