Skip to content

Bull

ListHaving reached number ten, I was thinking that it might have been a mistake to number the posts on this blog. As my friend T pointed out, by the time it gets into the 100’s it might be a bit weird – and tedious. Sorry, I think it’s probably my obsession with lists. I have a day list, and then then there’s the Long List….

it seemed like a good idea at the time

Which is, I hope, not what I am going to say after having just purchased a half share in a BULL

Traditional English Hereford Bull www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Herald when he was young – much bigger now. That cow seems to like him.

More like this….

It all became a bit of a dilemma. Being a fairly rare breed there are not a huge amount of herds around. The bulls seem to be everywhere around the country apart from the south west. A fact I probably should have taken into consideration more before going ahead with the Traditional English Hereford. But I was so taken with them, their lovely colour and sweet temperaments. Usually, the idea is to borrow or rent a bull to get your cows in calf and then send him back whence he came. However, as they are so far away the costs of transportation are enormous. Of course there is always AI (Artificial Insemination) but I have gone off this idea.

Pedigree Hereford Certificate www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Heralds pedigree certificate. He comes fro the Llandinabo line which is good apparently.

T & N are in the same boat, so when the opportunity arose to buy Herald from someone who is moving to the Outer Hebrides we had a discussion and decided to go for it. We will own half each and he will divide his time between our two little herds. Though he may eventually end up spending more time here as T & N have a public footpath and yurts.

He ‘throws’ lots of male calves – which is good for beef production. I wonder when I can officially say I’m farming. Steak anyone? Excited!. Terrified.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Harriet #

    Good lord.

    September 6, 2012
  2. Harriet #

    4 acres, 3 cows and half a bull? I think that officially makes you a farmer 🙂

    September 7, 2012
  3. Harriet #

    10 acres, even

    September 7, 2012
  4. Charlotte #

    Well you’ll certainly get lots more cows and then lots more…….farming life starts at 50. Please don’t give me Mary Rose for supper.

    September 7, 2012
  5. I don’t blame the cow ‘cuz Herald is a looker. 😉 I’m glad you wrote that you own a half share in a bull and not half a bull…that would have freaked me out.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting on my Cows and Country Near Prestbury post. And you were right; I did enjoy your Bull post!

    September 11, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Herald Delivered – A Bull Story in a Storm | thinkingcowgirl
  2. In Which the Harsh Realities of Farming are Experienced | thinkingcowgirl

I love hearing what you think too...

