Skip to content

Heifer…or Heffalump?

Traditional English Herefords www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Getting rounder

So, it’s nearly two months since we’ve had the heifers. The other day I noticed that they are getting a little fat. Not such a bad thing going into winter I think but Mary Rose has a rather alarmingly large belly, significantly bigger than either Lucy or Belita.

I watch her for a while. It really is quite big. Is she just a quick eater? She’s always butting Belita out of the way when the cow treats come out so there is a bit of a greedy preponderance. But nothing like Lucy who is a real bully girl, bashing the other two with her horns to get to the goodies. And she’s not anything like as huge as Mary Rose.

Traditional English Hereford www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Mary Rose – even rounder?

Suddenly, a horrible thought strikes me. I hope she’s not pregnant. Thoughts race around. Is that cowly possible? I think that they can come into ‘bulling’ (season) at the earliest from 9 months and usually at around a year…but they shouldn’t be put with a bull until at least 2 years old. Ours are a year old so…

I realise I have been bumbling along at this cow business for a while. We haven’t even managed to catch them yet.

We get on the phone. I speak to J & L and ask them to come over and see what they reckon and B talks to a local fencer about quoting for making a pen in the corner of the field by the gate so that we can drive them into it and then get them into the cattle crush (this sounds worse than it is) for things like TB tests, foot trimming and scanning the uterus.

Cattle Crush www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cattle crush I bought from ebay. On the list to paint…!

Our friend H the vet comes over and has a look. She’s more of a cat and dog and guinea pig vet but she thinks it may just be a grass belly. I feel slightly reassured. It is not nice to think of a calf growing inside Mary Rose she is too young and small to give birth and would have to have a C section. Today I’ve emailed the previous owners to ask if there is any chance that she could have been with a bull.

I’m hoping it’s just a scare and that she’s just turned from Heifer to Heffalump on all that lovely grass.

Traditional English Hereford Heifer www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

They are definitely growing. Here is Belita. She is now 1yr old.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Your pets are so cute. PETS I say. As in pet them and not eat them …..Sarah
    eat the grass if your hungry.

    September 15, 2012
    • hehehe 🙂 Sometimes I do get down on the ground and pretend I’m a grazer…they don’t buy it though and just think I’m weird

      September 16, 2012
  2. I will be watching for the outcome……….let us know!

    September 18, 2012
    • Thanks for following and responding…I will definitely be updating the pregnancy panic story! Still waiting to hear from the previous owners…hmm

      September 19, 2012
  3. Aww beauties! I love that fringe thing they have going on… 🙂 Do you think they’ll let you ruffle it one day?

    September 18, 2012
    • I know, so cute! Just waiting to be ruffled…I can just about reach out and ruffle when their heads are in the cow treat bucket. Lucy isn’t that bothered, Mary Rose will put up with it but Belita is downright scared. They were probably a bit roughly handled to start with…

      September 19, 2012
  4. Hello! Thank you for dropping by at my blog. Your three heifers are absolutely gorgeous – I’m a Jersey lover, but one look from that milky white Hereford face has absolutely melted me 🙂 One or two of our heifers have (accidentally) gotten in calf at an earlier age than one year. Technically, it’s possible, but for her to be far enough along to show it… probably not. Enjoy your lovely heifers!

    September 25, 2012
    • Thanks very much for the advice. Fingers crossed! Your Jerseys look lovely.

      September 25, 2012

I love hearing what you think too...

