Skip to content

Galvanised Skies, Slate and Ash – In Which I Pay Homage to (Get Lost In) Grey

Oh god, I think I may have missed the wordpress deadline for posts on A Splash of Colour, but’s that’s probably because I was meandering about in the world of grey, where you don’t have any strong opinions and it’s all give and take and two sided. Then it’s suddenly the end of the week! Never mind, I offer it up anyway. Please don’t get depressed.

Lime Plaster Wall in Shaded White www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Grey. You might not like it but it’s everywhere. It’s the median of life, neither absence of light, nor full of light. It is hovering all around, in every shadow, touching each surface, making objects solid and deep.

It’s a symbol of authority and conservatism. Suits and ties.

It is often the muted backdrop to this temperate place, the sky washed through with a hundred shades, a comprehensive index of neutral.

Cloudy Grey Sky www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cloudy Grey Sky with TreesIt is the colour of aggregates and cement, we build with those. It is grim and tough like granite and cool and smooth like slate. It is the bloom on the wriggles of tin and the protective coating on iron. It is as heavy as lead.

Rag Slate Roof

Galvanised Dustbin Lid www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com Galvanised Close Up www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Lead Pipe www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.comSlate Floor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.comLead Pipe fixed to WallIt is mistily ambiguous, made of only of water and air.

Condensation with Willow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

And flaky and flyaway.

Wood Ash www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Clematis Seedhead www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Grey Moth www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

image by thepoormouth.blogspot.co.uk

But it is solid and dependable.

Grey Front Door www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Ash Wood www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

It is known as sombre, cheerless.

Lime Plaster Wall in Shaded White www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

But can be practical and warm, soft and cosy. It doesn’t show the dirt

Gloves with Tar Paint  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Grey Jacket on Grey Wall  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.comGrey Wristwarmers

It is the cover of a favourite book

Book Cover by John Gray  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

And has a certain elegance

Ikea Duvet Cover  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Grey Shirt  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Tree Wallpaper  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

And lest we forget…

Grey Cows  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Not depressing — soothing! Lovely images, poetic words.

    October 20, 2012
    • Thanks Tricia, I’m glad you feel soothed, that’s great to know

      October 20, 2012
  2. Thank you for sharing such a geautiful word/image essay on grey.
    Er, me hair’s a bit gray too.
    Big Smiles

    October 21, 2012
    • You’re right, afterwards I was thinking I should have included grey hair…wisdom, maturity 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  3. Maybe you’re attracted to greys because that’s what your cows like to do.

    October 21, 2012
  4. What a great collection!
    It does make me feel warm and comfortable about all this grey coming up in foggy autumn times now.
    Thank you for collecting these!

    October 24, 2012
    • Thank you, I’m glad it strikes a chord. It’s amazing what I saw within 100 metres of the front door…infact including the front door! Apart from the animal life of course as there weren’t any obliging grey cows or moths hanging around at the time…

      October 24, 2012
  5. Beautiful pictures S!! I really enjoyed your words too, I’m about to step out into the grey world outside (which I’ve just been hiding from), but now feel like I can embrace it. Strong, dependable hue. Strong, dependable hue. Thank you!

    October 24, 2012
  6. Wow, what a fabulous and thought-provoking series. These are fantastic photographs. So glad you prompted me to come. Thank you!

    October 26, 2012
  7. I can’t help it – I have to point out you’ve only shown 24 shades of gray! Quite enough for me, thank you very much, and some wonderful photography. I’m looking forward to following your blog.

    October 26, 2012
    • What about the 100 shades I mention in the sky, can they count? That makes it more than double the amount in THAT WHICH SHALL NOT BE NAMED on this blog. It’s part of the reclamation project… 🙂

      October 27, 2012
  8. Today is grey on Serendipity Farm but I am hoping for rain so grey is most definately a welcome state of affairs rather than the usual suspect. I love grey, but then I am a stoic. I love the solidity and the way that it pairs with brilliant hues to lend them an air of dignity and respect. I hope that this blog has only been going for a short while because I am doing sweet sod all today apart from wading back through these posts and having a ball. The dogs are sulking because I haven’t set foot outside the back door. It’s lucky that Steve is off in town doing the fortnightly shopping or I dare say he would be sulking too…

    November 25, 2012
    • I’m glad to meet you, fellow grey lover! I hope the rain came. I find blogging world to be a bit like that – one minute it’s sunrise and then, oophs, it’s lunch! If my offerings to the blogosphere are in any way helping someone have some enjoyable downtime then that makes me happy. Work, it’s overrated. 🙂

      November 28, 2012
      • Again massive kudos for your blog. It’s definately one of the richest things that I allow myself to ingest these days 😉

        November 28, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “Don’t just look up, look down” | I Spy with My Inner Eye

I love hearing what you think too...

