Skip to content

What Have the Cows Been Doing This Week

LYING DOWN

Traditional Herefords Lying Down www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Traditional Hereford Heifers Lying Down  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Belita, Lucy, Mary-Rose

CLIMBING

Traditional Hereford Heifers on Hedgebank  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

EATING

Traditional Hereford Heifers Eating Hay  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

It’s only fair they get some tea too

Traditional Hereford Heifers Eating Hay  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
We made our hay in August, this was very late but it was such a wet summer. You can find out about it here and here if you’re interested.

Moon in Autumn Sky  www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

The moon was full

NOT HAVING A BONFIRE OBVIOUSLY THIS IS JUST IN HONOUR OF 5TH NOVEMBER BONFIRE NIGHT

Bonfire

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. naomi parslow #

    Hi

    I’m planning to lie down in the sun myself. These are days to be immersed in the rays of Vit D even if only hands and face are exposed. My woolies, thickly layered will help me enjoy the moment for longer. Lolita and Luna on the other hand will be drying off another henna masterpiece, unaware of the chill wind. Agh…. youth. My hat, of which i realise it’s time to update this year, is permanently keeping my head warm. I’m not sure if it’s an age thing approaching or do most women over 44 wake with a cold head and need a hat for the night sleep?

    ANy how, Meditation tomorrow night. COunt us both in. Yoga this evening with Lo. It’s a new leaf for the winter months.

    Love Naomi

    November 5, 2012
    • It’s freezing brrr got my wristwarmers on! Not surprised you’re wearing a hat in bed up there on the moor though you do have the perfect spot to soak up any spare rays. 🙂 x

      November 5, 2012
  2. I love Belita, Lucy, and Mary-Rose. They warm my heart. I wish I could touch their sweet faces.

    November 5, 2012
    • Aaw, you and me both, Lemony! I’m working on it but they still don’t love me as much as I love them.

      November 5, 2012
  3. Charlotte #

    Ahh those cute Curly Girls

    November 5, 2012
  4. They are lovely cow. I would like to watch them in a field under the full moon. Sigh!

    November 6, 2012
  5. Do your cows lie down when rain is due? My mother (a dairy farmer’s daughter) taught me to forecast rain by observing cows.

    November 6, 2012
    • I have heard this too and it’s what I always thougt. However, I think they sometimes just lie down because they are happy and it’s sunny…ruminating

      November 6, 2012
  6. I love the photo of the three of them deep into hay-munching. When I was growing up in Iowa, we always watched the cows in the fields to forecast rain. I haven’t a clue if there was any real correlation, but we watched anyway.

    Far better was the ring around the moon. A ring around the moon does mean rain, and if you count the number of stars inside the circle, you’ll get the number of days before the rain. I’ll stand by that one!

    Your cows’ names startled me. I read a blogger named Maery-Rose. She doesn’t resemble Mary-Rose at all, except maybe for her curly hair.

    November 9, 2012
    • Thank you, they do like a good old burrow into a pile of hay. I think they may be looking for a tastier bit.

      I’ll watch out for that ring…if the clouds ever clear! No no no we do get some bright skies….sometimes. I’m not sure about the lying down thing either, they do seem to just enjoy it as well. I think it’s a bit like a nap after lunch, or having 40 winks as my grandma used to say.

      The cows are named after my sisters and aunt, hence their rather uncowlike names 🙂

      November 9, 2012
  7. That’s a positively hectic week for the cows then 🙂

    November 9, 2012
  8. I often wonder what it means when cows, or sheep for that matter, lie down. I always assume it’s connected with the weather but I like your idea that they’re just happy and ruminating.

    November 22, 2012
  9. I certainly hope that the bonfire wasn’t started by your cows! Earl, our reprobate American Staffy would LOVE to release his latent pyromania…the only reason that Serendipity Farm hasn’t burned to the ground is that Earl doesn’t have oposable thumbs and the matches remain unstruck (but not uneaten…). I love cows. I grew up on a 100 acre property bordering a tidal inlet in Denmark Western Australia and learned to be a little nature loving feral because I was the oldest child and my mother had no time to be tying me to a chair to get me to “sit!”. My whole world revolved around exploring and MAN would I love to explore your environment! ;). Cheers for sharing your beatific cows with us all. They are most obviously spoiled beyond belief and are the most contented looking cows that I have seen in ages 🙂

    November 25, 2012
    • I love the sound of your inlet – what an amazing place to grow up. Haha,that’s funny about your mum having no time to tie you to a chair! I had a very good Australian friend when I was young, their family were in the UK for a short time and I loved their easy-going ways, I was always round at their house! Guilty as charged with the spoiling – I suppose I’m going to have to exert some authority at some point 🙂

      November 26, 2012
      • Don’t let it get to the point that we have with our chooks…we started with 8 guarenteed hens…and now we have goodness only knows how many chooks (would be over 50) free ranging all over our 4 acres breeding exponentially, attacking feral cats, staring out the neighbours and generally menacing the local population. We throw out bread and butter in the mornings to stop the riots and to quell them from taking matters into their own hands and heading up the deck to get their own…we are just clinging tenaciously to our sanity till we can build a bigger outdoor area for them to enclose them and give away about 3/4 of them…think about us whenever the urge to buy a bull enters your head! 😉

        November 27, 2012
      • Too late!

        November 28, 2012

I love hearing what you think too...

