Skip to content

Slipping into Winter – the Breath of Beating Wings

Today it feels like we’ve slipped into winter – how did that happen?

Winter Sky www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Today the trees look stark against the beautiful sky, it is damp and cold, and there is an earthy smell of decay. But strange discrepancies abound too. A Foxglove is in flower still, it’s delicately freckled throat facing the sun.

November Foxglove www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Today the sky was dramatic, pristine. It has been clear blue, shot through with every conceivable shape and shuffle that a cloud can make, smoky puffs of dark grey, silvery sides of mackeral , a mountain range in the distance kissed by low sun and a wash of the softest brush.

Today I feel sad.

Today I wish that my father was still alive, and that B & G were not ill, and that I could capture what is not possible.

Winter Sky www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Winter Sky www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.comWinter Sky www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Winter Sky with Starlings www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

I can hear the whirr of the starlings wings as they approach, flying along the valley edge, making their way to the roost on Bodmin Moor. And then they are gone, the breath of their beating wings landing on my shoulders.

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. I am sorry you are sad. Although perhaps, as you say, you cannot capture what is not possible, what you do capture in this post is poignant and lovely. Thank you.

    November 11, 2012
    • Thanks very much, it’s quite a struggle to grapple with expressing this stuff so I’m pleased if it went a little way to describing it.

      November 12, 2012
  2. Sorry you’re feeling sad 😦 Very lovely post

    November 11, 2012
    • Ah, thanks, maybe a glass of wine and some of your alpine milka might help πŸ™‚

      November 12, 2012
      • It usually does the trick for me!

        November 13, 2012
  3. Beautiful photos S. I’m sorry to hear you’re sad. The words you use are moving; full of passion and sincerity. Sending my love from a soggy state in the US x

    November 11, 2012
    • Thanks B. I was a bit soggy yesterday with all those tears but I’m cheering up after getting it out and making mincemeat – roll on the pies! x

      November 12, 2012
  4. A stirring post, with such beautiful images. The first photograph of the Winter Sky is particularly striking to me. The silhouettes of the trees captures your melancholy mood. All best wishes to you.

    November 12, 2012
    • I couldn’t believe all that was going on in that sky. We’ve been pretty lucky over the last few weeks – loads of amazing rainbows too. I’m glad you like the picture, making the post was theraputic, thanks.

      November 12, 2012
  5. Lovely. Be well.

    November 12, 2012
  6. Here are some more starlings – http://blog.rowleygallery.co.uk/murmuration/ – I hope you like them.

    November 12, 2012
    • Ah, I love this film! It’s sweet and touching as well as being spectacular. We have a HUGE roost on Bodmin Moor, it really is a sight seeing and hearing a million birds flying in…it lasts for ages. Sadly they don’t do many synchronised acrobatics like this, not sure why, but they rise and fall, rise and fall like one. Thanks.

      November 12, 2012
  7. Your third photo, of the tree against the sky, is particularly appealing. I love the silhouettes of leafless trees – they seem happy sometimes to be able to feel the winds without the blanket of leaves.

    My dad has been gone for over thirty years. Strangely, I miss him more now than ever, and in some ways know him better, than when he was here. I often wish him back, too – there’s so much I’d love to share. As you say, the world has its impossibilities.

    November 12, 2012
    • Thanks, that one in particular comes into its own in winter, and I loved the little peaks of the clouds in the distance. We have a bit of a dearth of big trees here in the west because of the wind – when I travel back up country I’m always thrilled to see huge trees again.

      I know what you mean about knowing someone better – things from the distant past begin to filter in and fill out the picture. It’s one of those poignancies of life I guess…

      November 13, 2012
  8. Reblogged this on Annette J Dunlea Irish Author's Literary Blog and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

    November 18, 2012
  9. Like your other readers, I’m very sorry you were sad, but your photos and words are beautiful. Funny, I was walking along the other day thinking the same sort of thing, that the trees were looking stark, and then I saw a foxglove in bloom, too, which surprised me. They’ve done exceedingly well this year, foxgloves.

    November 22, 2012
    • Ah thanks tearoomdelights. The seasons have all been so weird this year haven’t they.

      December 6, 2012
  10. You are bleeding into winter as we are lifting off into summer. I love winter. It gives you the time to think and ponder and consider. It also gives your heart time to grieve and your mind time to get over what the year has handed to you on its ever changing plate. Our own human seasons echo the constance of change of our worldly seasons and we are often left bundled and tumbled along in their wake and aching for the solidity of time to take away the pain. I am sorry you lost your dad. I lost my mum this year and know how it feels to feel that emptiness that you can’t salve. I wonder if our foxgloves will do well this year? Thank you for this poignant post πŸ™‚

    November 25, 2012
    • Thanks very much. I like ‘bleeding into winter’, it describes that transition really well. As you say, a time for reflection, I seem to be doing a lot of that these days! Sorry to hear about your mum. What are your Tasmanian summers like?

      November 28, 2012
      • Tasmania isn’t as hot as the mainland. Our summers in Western Australia ususally consisted of a 40C + day but here it’s usually about 25C and lovely. Steve can’t get his head around hot Christmas though. He has been here since 1999 and Christmas is a bit surreal for him…heading down to the beach for a Christmas bbq isn’t the same as a cold U.K. Christmas no matter how much fun it is πŸ˜‰

        November 28, 2012
  11. Charlotte P #

    I’m missing the beauty of your poetic writing and photos….come back to us with more like this please x

    February 27, 2015

I love hearing what you think too...

