Skip to content

Outside, Everywhere – In Which I Pay Homage to Green

Green got into my soul on Wednesday

Magical Spring www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Drink

Flaking Green Paint www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
Work

Blades of Grass, Tree Trunk www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
Escape

Flaking Khaki Paint on Cattle Crush www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
Job

Blades of Grass, Flaking Paint
Underneath

Flaking Green Paint, Old Machinery www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
History

Pennywort www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Spend

Old Canoe www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
Going Nowhere

Mossand Shadows
Soft

Duck Weed on Water Trough
Wet

Green Plastic Tarp and Ladder
Sunset

Clematis www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
Behind

Pegs on Line www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com
Resting

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ahh green… beautiful photos!

    November 23, 2012
  2. What a creative collection. I love these shots. I especially like the images of the flaking green paint, the duckweed (lovely composition), and the pegs on a line. They’ve all brightened my day!

    November 23, 2012
    • Many thanks, I’m glad your day has been brightened! Green paint is an agricultural staple – in fact, I think there might have been a whole novel devoted to this subject…ironic and dark πŸ™‚ I keep thinking I should repaint but it’s just so attractive…

      November 23, 2012
  3. Lovely!

    November 23, 2012
  4. Lemony answered my question – you do have duckweed, too. And I really like the photo of the clothespins (look! more word differences!) I do believe the door is my favorite, though. I’m a great fan of windows and doors.

    November 23, 2012
  5. You and me both shoreacres. Fellow door and window fans unite! Pins, pegs, love ’em all. Thanks. Actually, I’ve got a bit of a thing about that line – it makes an appearance in another post – and I’m sure it will again.

    November 23, 2012
  6. Ahh! So lovely and soothing. Mostly browns around here these days.

    November 24, 2012
  7. Reblogged this on Plews Potting Shed.

    November 24, 2012
  8. A Damascene moment! Lovely selection of greens you’ve found, I especially like the peeling door. Your post put me in mind of this post from FeyGirl at Serenity Spell: http://serenityspell.com/2012/11/23/weekly-photo-challenge-green/.

    (BTW I don’t know it it’s a WP problem but all the photographs have disappeared from your post)

    November 25, 2012
    • Thanks very much, though I had to look up Damascene and I’m not sure I’m any clearer! There’s something really appealing about peeling paint isn’t there. Hope the photographs have come back.

      I tried to check your link but my computer didn’t like it and blocked it – not sure why, I’ll try another way.

      November 26, 2012
  9. I so love green! We get a reasonable amount of it here in Tasmania unlike when I lived in Western Australia and green turned to brown before you could notice the green in the first place. I am still learning about actual seasons having only 2 in W.A. summer and spring with the mildest of winters and deciduous trees are like discovering fairies in the bottom of the garden… magic! The luxury of water to spare…enough water to turn the landscape green makes me incredulous and envious beyond belief…imagine the wonderful garden that I could have if I didn’t have to pore over horticultural tombs to find “xeriscape” and “water-wise” and “drought tolerant” species that all seem to have a decided lack of green and a definate resemblance to alien species. While the U.K. is drowning under tides of water we are shrivelling with not a drop to spare…how ironic…

    November 25, 2012
    • It is topsy turvy in more ways than one. I am definitely trying to be grateful but it’s hard! We have heard a little about the drought you have, it sounds horrendous. I will send some rain thoughts your way.

      November 28, 2012
      • Thank you for the rainy thoughts…my sister in Western Australia is getting rain…lots of it…but here in Tasmania where it’s supposed to be cold and raining all of the time (they don’t call it little britain for nothing!) it’s been extended dry and clear blue skies. At least the veggies are going gangbusters πŸ™‚

        November 28, 2012

I love hearing what you think too...

