Skip to content

Midweek Bulletin – The Cows First Frosty Morn

Well, they have probably had a frosty morn somewhere else…but we don’t talk about that place (where they were a bit rough with my girls).

The rest of the country has already experienced the frost but down here in the milder south west it’s our first proper one. Hurrah, a break from rain.

I love the ice crystals’ transformative power, the thick fur of a cows mane.

Traditional English Hereford Heifers in Frost www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cow Fur www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Frost on Chestnut www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Frosty Scene Cornwall www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cow Fur www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Frost on Chestnut www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Traditional English Hereford Heifers www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Julia #

    Ooh very frosty! Did it hang around all day or did you have to get up early to catch it;)

    December 12, 2012
    • Haha, yes I did bestir myself a little earlier than usual ๐Ÿ˜‰

      December 13, 2012
  2. Charlotte #

    Lovely pictures!

    December 12, 2012
  3. Sunshine and frost! Beautiful!

    December 12, 2012
  4. As you know it makes a change ๐Ÿ˜‰

    December 13, 2012
  5. Your herefords are absolutely gorgeous :). We don’t get frost on our property much and we don’t have cows but we certainly appreciate the cold weather! The very first winter that we arrived in Tasmania from balmy Western Australia my youngest daughter and I were struck down by a strange form of itchy sores, she on her toes and I got them on my fingers. We were (at the time) both vegans (daughter now isn’t) and put it down to some sort of deficiency but it turned out we had chillblains! We certainly learned about the cold! Now we have learned to slow down in the winter…to take the shorter days and longer nights as they come and to make the most of the slow, easy time to read, to catch up on all sorts of things and to think and plan. Now its Summer and who has time to think or plan?!!! We are too busy racing about “doing” things to think or plan so we have to remember to think and plan a whole lot more come winter 2013! ๐Ÿ™‚

    December 14, 2012
    • I imagine it’s pretty manic there on Serendipity right now…one minute it’s dormant, the next it’s so fecund you feel it’s all going to swamp you! Crikey, I remember chilblains, I used to get them after riding in the winter, so itchy…

      December 14, 2012
  6. supernova #

    Nice, I like the last photo, the cows look very contented. SN

    December 15, 2012
  7. What is that lovely dog?? (Face shot please!)

    December 16, 2012
  8. I looked and looked for the dog. Now, I think I have it sorted out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love frost, especially hoarfrost. We so rarely see it – but it does come now and then. Are the cows eyelashes frosty, or are they naturally white? I seem to remember cows and horses can create their own frosty parts with their breath when conditions are right. The top photo’s my fav, I believe. They are handsome girls – an expression that isn’t always appropriate or welcome, but I think it fits here perfectly.

    December 16, 2012
    • You’re doing better than me! Where’s the dog?

      The cows eyelashes are naturally white and do indeed help to make them handsome ๐Ÿ™‚

      There’s a similar quality to frost as there is to snow – I think it’s to do with the deadening of sound, which really alters perception.

      December 17, 2012
      • As you figured out, it’s not really a dog, it’s the cows. That 5th photo, especially, resembles my friend’s “dustmop dog” if you look down on him from above. There’s nothing to see but fur – it took me a minute to “see” it. I can’t remember which breed he is – something like a Llaso Apsa or however you spell it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        December 23, 2012
  9. I’m laughing. Of course I see it’s the cows now.
    The 3rd from the bottom photo — looks like a shot of a little dog – really. It’s looking out, head turned a little to the left, in a sitting position with tail curling on the ground to the right. A silky terrier looking sweet thing. See? I’m not mad… well, much.
    Guess I need to get out to the country and visit some cows soon!

    December 18, 2012
    • hehehe I can SORT of see it, but because I know exactly what it is it’s hard. That’s the beauty of the blog – open to all sorts of interpretation ๐Ÿ™‚

      December 18, 2012

I love hearing what you think too...

