Skip to content

Decking a Tudor Hall

I’m well into the decoration groove now, trying to ignore the swamp outside the door. Today a fountain of liquid mud squirted above my wellies onto my jeans while I was getting the hay for the cows. The poor things were so keen to get something dry in their systems that they started eating the barrow of straw I was dispensing to try and mop up the quagmire beneath their feet.

On the plus side I remembered a visit to the tudor house Cothele last year and I thought I’d just share some pictures of these lovely decorations which they do every christmas.  They use 20,000 dried flowers for the garland, which are all grown in the garden. I apologise for the slightly out of focus ones, it was an amazing light and I didn’t want to use flash.

jan2012 008 jan2012 010 jan2012 011 jan2012 012 jan2012 013 jan2012 001 jan2012 002 jan2012 003 jan2012 005 jan2012 006 jan2012 007 jan2012 004

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a great way to decorate! I’d never think of using dried flowers.

    December 24, 2012
  2. Maia #

    Thank You for all your lovely inspiring informative posts, the pictures are great! I travel a little every time I read your blog. Happy holidays!

    December 24, 2012
    • Maia! Thank you very much. Hope everything goes well for you x x

      December 24, 2012
  3. Harriet #

    That burst of spring and summer in this drear nadir of the year, like a breath of joy – love it.

    December 24, 2012
    • Glad it’s brought a little lift, will get you in the mood for your tropical christmas 🙂

      December 24, 2012
  4. What an extraordinary place. Your photos are magnificent – especially in the way you use the light coming in from windows and such.

    We do a good bit of decorating with dried grasses, flowers, and such here. Everything from milkweed pods to strawflower to pinecones to discarded antlers find their way into wreaths and swags. Down on the bayou in Louisiana, where I go every chance I get, shells, crab claws and such are incorporated too – even the scales from a fish called alligator gar.

    I think your second photo is my favorite, but there’s something to enjoy in each of them!

    December 26, 2012
    • I spent a little time in Louisiana (mainly NO, but I did get to the bayou) at one time, I can well imagine all that. Glad you like Cothele, it is pretty amazing..and that light!

      December 26, 2012
  5. What beautiful natural garlands and what poignant reminders of the flip side of your summer. Is that amaranth in the large colourful display of everlastings? I won’t make any derogatory comments about blurry or shaky photography as I routinely take at least 5 photo’s of everything that I want to put in my blog and even then most of my shots can’t be used ;). I saw some beautiful coloured maple leaves preserved (dipped) in a thin shell of beeswax turned into a fantastic Christmas garland on someone’s blog…there are some amazingly creative people out there. I am amazed that our humble little pirate driftwood Christmas Tree has made it to almost New Years Day as Earl had sampled the lower branches a couple of times…I guess salt isn’t his thing 😉

    December 28, 2012
  6. I’ve always been an avid photographer but in the days of film you had to be a bit more selective with your shots! I’ve got a the fantastic Lumix for blog work, and it took me ages to get used to not having a view finder, composing seemed that much more difficult. But at least you can waste as many as you like 😉 The maple leaves sound amazing and I like the sound of your driftwood tree, I’ll be popping over to Serendipity to have a gander soon.

    Not sure if it’s aramanth – sounds good though, and maybe like you know it – it looks pretty exotic, probably an annual in these parts. Oh is it Love Lies Bleeding or something….dredging up some horticultural memories here…!

    December 28, 2012

I love hearing what you think too...

