Skip to content

My Year of Cows 2012

Well, as you know, I’ve got a soft spot for cows…

Traditional Hereford Cow & Calf www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Traditional Hereford Cow & Calf

But when you get really interested in something you start seeing the object of your desire everywhere.

Galloways on Dartmoor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Galloways on Dartmoor

So this is my collection of 2012, roughly in chronological order, though there’s a few I took a few years ago when I started looking.

Belted Galloway www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Belted Galloway on Dartmoor

1130

Belted Galloways on Dartmoor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Belted Galloways on Dartmoor

1132

Galloways on Dartmoor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Galloways on Dartmoor

Burgundian Charolais www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Burgundian Charolais

Highland Cattle on Bodmin Moor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Highland Cattle on Bodmin Moor

Traditional Hereford Cow & Calf

Traditional Hereford Cow & Calf

North Devon Cow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

North Devon Cow

Cattle on Bodmin Moor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cattle on Bodmin Moor

j

Highland Cow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Highland Cow

j

Aberdeen Angus Bull (I think) www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Aberdeen Angus Bull (I think)

Cattle on Bodmin Moor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cattle on Bodmin Moor

j

Cowon Bodmin Moor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Aaaw

Cow in BodminMoor www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cow on Bodmin Moor

Cattle on Bodmin www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cattle on Bodmin Moor

j

Spanish Cows www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Spanish Cows

Friesian Steer www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Friesian Steer

Young steers feeding www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Young steers feeding

Cow Fur www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cow Fur

Traditional Hereford Bull www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

And we mustn’t forget Herald, our bull

Young Hereford X Steer www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

And his children…not sure what the mother was…

Traditional Hereford Heifers

And saving the best til last…Belita, Mary-Rose & Lucy

38 Comments Post a comment
  1. Brilliant! I think you may have caused me to develop a soft spot for cows as well. ESPECIALLY those Galloways. LOOK at their faces.

    January 7, 2013
  2. Love the belted Galloways and Highland cows….totally different and unique x

    January 7, 2013
  3. Wonderful! Thanks.

    January 7, 2013
  4. Oh, I can’t decide on which is my favorite! Although the Spanish cows with their babes are darling and I love the Friesian Steer on the lane and that shaggy belly on the Cattle on Bodmin Moor. And yes, your sweeties are gorgeous too. Love them all and wish I could smell them. (I love the smells)

    January 8, 2013
    • I was taken with the shaggy belly too, I think it’s the light. I know what you mean about smells. They have very sweet breath.

      January 9, 2013
  5. These are wonderful! I’ve never seen those white cows before.

    January 8, 2013
  6. Yay! These shots make me so happy! They’re the very photographs I’ve always wanted to take myself! πŸ™‚

    January 8, 2013
    • Aw thanks Lemony I’m pleased to have made you happy. They have the same effect on me…not sure exactly why, but hey we can’t always choose our obsessions πŸ˜‰ There is a painter who only paints cows…he gets up in the morning thinking ‘today I am going to paint something different’. But it never happens. Actually, he’s pretty successful!

      January 9, 2013
  7. Fantastic pictures πŸ™‚ I love those questioning cows on Bodmin.

    January 8, 2013
    • Yes, ‘who the hell are you and what are you doing?’ is the phrase that springs to mind πŸ˜‰

      January 9, 2013
  8. Gorgeous cows! I have a distinct soft spot for them (and I don’t even eat them πŸ˜‰ ). We have belted galloways here in Tasmania and I love seeing the “licorice allsort” cows in the fields. It’s hot here at the moment and there are fires everywhere and so cows in Tasmania wouldn’t want all of that fur…I saw a little poodle shaven and free of his furry shackled of oppression…I wonder if cows would like to be shaven on a hot summers day? πŸ™‚

    January 8, 2013
    • Hmm I’m not sure how I square ‘loving them’ and ‘eating them’ !! God, maybe I’ll become a vegetarian when the time comes…

      Yes I imagine the galloways would get a little warm where you are, they probably would like a shave πŸ˜‰

      Have heard/seen about the fires, looks pretty bad with all that wind. You’re in the other direction?

      January 9, 2013
      • There was an out of control fire 15km away but we live right on the river and the wind tends to blow the other way so we weren’t too worried at the time and they put the fire out quickly. Cheers for your concern…most of Tasmania seems to have gone up in smoke! I know that they are now VERY worried about the tourism season as Tassie is a tourist state without much else and a lot of the most popular tourist spots were in the most fire affected areas. I helped Steve cut off the roosters heads but with cows…it would be a bit different! πŸ˜‰

        January 9, 2013
      • My friend T just says it gets harder and harder and he’s been in the cow business on a small scale for years!

        Glad to hear that you’re near the river – but are there things that eat you in that water, or can you swim?

        January 9, 2013
      • “Things in the water…”
        1. it is a shark nursery…but the sharks are not dangerous and they are good to eat…
        2. it contains the odd seal (after the salmon in the fish farm around the corner) that likes to herd fish and barrels into them like a torpedo…very interesting to watch but terrifying if he does it close to shore when you are unaware of him doing so!
        3. All SORTS of fish that Steve is currently sitting out in his “tinny” attempting to catch and bring home for tonights evening degustatory “event”
        4. Oysters…lots and LOTS of oysters line the shores of the river at this point in its wending way out to the sea (just around the corner) so walking into the water is in, and of itself, a dangerous feat! So is eating the oysters apparently but that doesn’t stop thousands of tourists thinking its a good idea πŸ˜‰

        January 9, 2013
  9. Love this. Well done, keep up the good work! great photos

    January 8, 2013
    • Thank you very much, and great that you came to visit. I’m looking forward to seeing what you’re up to. ‘Unbleatable’, great πŸ˜‰

      January 9, 2013
  10. Harriet #

    Lovely – although I would have a cow (heheh) if I met those Highland beasties as I roamed unsuspecting on Bodmin Moor!

    January 8, 2013
    • Actually I did get a bit alarmed once…they seemed a bit too forward for my liking πŸ˜‰

      January 9, 2013
  11. they’re so cool – never really had a soft spot for cows myself but if anyone could convert me i guess it would be you, you obviously adore them!

    January 8, 2013
    • I see you have detected my mission … you-will-love-the-cows (robot voice)

      January 9, 2013
  12. I think I would like a belted galloway or perhaps several but then I would need a field (or perhaps several) and neither are easy to accommodate in south london so maybe I’ll just be contented enjoying your lovely photos, for now.

    January 8, 2013
    • Ooh where is your allotment? I had one in south london. I was tempted by the galloways too, but apparently they are a bit frisky so I opted for the more docile Hereford -can’t say they’re living up to THAT reputation very much πŸ™‚ though they are teenagers…what can you do?

      January 9, 2013
      • My allotment is in dulwich, in between the remnants of the great north wood and dulwich golf course. The golfers are a bit of a hazard, especially the less talented ones and it would be great if they could be replaced by some nice cows, even if they were a bit frisky and course there’s the manure!

        January 9, 2013
      • I had an allotment near there too! I used to volunteer in Sydenham Hill Woods and I did a project to restore the outgrown 200 year old hawthorn hedge along Cox’s Walk which was the boundary with our allotment site. What a coincidence!

        Golfers. Agree, cows better.

        January 9, 2013
  13. yes small world!, although locally I do quite often meet ex-dulwich allotment holders who have given up on the heavy clay soil or been hospitalised by stray golf balls but now I realise they could be spread all over the globe. I looked at your map and was relieved to see there are no golf courses in your area – yet

    January 9, 2013
  14. Gue' #

    Oh, lookit those faces!

    Those belted Galloways are a new one for me. I’d never heard of those before. The Highlands are cool. They remind me a bit of Texas Longhorns, with those sweeping horns. Or maybe it’s my Scots blood harkening to my roots!

    Love them all but I still have a soft spot for the Herefords.

    January 13, 2013
    • You say all the right things! πŸ˜‰

      Maybe the Texas Longhorns are related to Highland cattle. Who was the Scot in your family?

      Most of these are old breeds, hardy and good for rough weather up on the moors. The galloways are really lovely, I particularly like the dun coloured one.

      January 14, 2013
  15. Oh, my gosh! I just left a long comment about the Belted Galloways over on your previous blog. Ah, well. Everything I said there still stands!

    We have a lot of Charolais here in Texas – also Angus <brought from Scotland in the 1800s) and Brangus (an Angus/Brahman cross). The Spanish brought Longhorns here in the late 1400s, and the Texas Longhorn has evolved from those ancestors. There's quite a difference between north and south Texas cattle – Beefmaster, Herefords and Angus are more northerly.

    Some of the ranches in South Texas are amazing. The King Ranch is huge – it takes many more acres per animal there, of course, as it's semi-arid.

    Anyway, lovely photos. I think if I were a cow I'd like to live in your country!

    January 16, 2013
    • Oh, interesting about the Longhorns, I suppose that makes sense, the Spanish connection. I forget about that sometimes.

      Lovely grass=lovely milk=lovely cheese…You can’t go wrong with cheddar!

      January 18, 2013
  16. That’s a handsome collection of creatures. The belted galloways are particularly attractive.

    January 20, 2013
    • They are really lovely aren’t they. A bit untameable apparently but opinions differ about this.

      January 21, 2013
  17. Wonderful pictures! Err, Moo-velous? Sorry, I really seem to have a weakness for Stilton cheesy old man jokes… πŸ˜‰

    January 20, 2013

I love hearing what you think too...

