Skip to content

Cornish Snow

Cornish Snow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.comA good deal of Upcountry (the word used here in Cornwall to indicate the rest of the UK) is now buried in some fine snow and there is talk of sledging and schools closing. Here in Cornwall meanwhile, stroked by warm westerlies from the Atlantic, we were dribbled with a kind of icy porridge, slightly slushy and now nearly all gone. Nevertheless it was still pretty.

Fence in snow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Winter Scene Cornwall www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Barn Roof Winter www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Gorse Flowers on Snow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Gorse flowers arranged on snow

snow on Woodpile www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Snow on woodpile

Hazel shoots winter landscape www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Hazel shoots in hedge

Snow on Slates www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Foxglove stem

Foxglove stem

Seedhead and Snow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

I did wonder if the cows had seen snow before because they were a little nonplussed by the whole thing, staring at it a bit resentfully from time to time as they ate their hay in the shed, as if to say you’ve robbed us of our grazing rights.

Field under Snow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

They have got much hungrier in the last few days which I guess is due to the cold and also the lack of good grass in their field. Next week I will be moving them to the Triangle Field which still has some growth left from after the hay cut. It doesn’t have a shelter so I’m wondering if I should bring them back on a daily basis – though perhaps they’d let me know if they wanted to go back to their shed and line up at the gate mooing.

Decisions decisions. I’ll report back.

Managed to snap the woodpecker

Managed to snap the woodpecker

29 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kay #

    I live near Liskeard in Cornwall and we didn’t even have any slush 😦 I love your picture of the woodpecker, I thought I could hear one off in the trees a few days ago but I thought they were migratory and that it was too early in the year for them. I didn’t realise they lived here all the time, that’s answered my question 🙂

    January 20, 2013
    • Hello Kay thanks very much. You must be that much further south I think, we are quite close to the northern side of the moor. I’m not much of an expert on birds but I do love watching them. We had a little coaltit visiting the feeder regularly until the night of the snowstorm – I’m rather worried that it spelled curtains for him or her, it was really howling out there!

      January 21, 2013
  2. Julia Wylie #

    Ah, thank you for all the lovely photos! I feel sorry for the girls having to be out in the cold, I think you will have them following you home each night soon!
    We have just had to venture out with a broom and shake the olive trees who were bending rather alarmingly under all the snow.

    January 20, 2013
    • Thanks Miss Wylie. I think I’m getting as slushy as that snow…I’m supposed to be farming! The snow in London sounds amazing, have you been sledging in Brockwell Park?

      January 21, 2013
  3. Charlotte #

    And what a lovely fellow he is – so smart!

    January 20, 2013
  4. Harriet #

    Fab photos – love the shiny foxglove stem, and the one with the gorse flowers just gets that feeling of the snow being lit from within.

    January 20, 2013
    • Thanks H I’m fond of that one too – with the monochrome in the background.

      January 21, 2013
  5. snow makes you see everything differently, London has been buried in it. The roads have gone quiet but the garden is alive with lots of hungry birds, we counted 11 species although no nuthatch or woodpecker – lucky you!

    January 20, 2013
    • I love the snow in London. All that quietness. And people smiling!

      January 21, 2013
  6. Ooh! I don’t mean to immediately turn this around to me (or do I?) – but snow I hear you say? I’ve never seen so much snow! We’ll be crossing the BC/Alberta border shortly and everything is covered in thick layers of white, like too much icing on a cake. They seem to know how to handle it, everything is moving (moo-ving?) along smoothly (smoooothly?). Aha, see what I did there…? :-O

    January 20, 2013
    • I think it might become quite boring if we became able to ‘handle it’ ! We would lose our joy and also what on earth would we have to complain about? 😉

      January 21, 2013
      • The weather…? 😉

        January 21, 2013
      • Doh, but we’re already talking about the weather! If we couldn’t complain about being able to handle the snow, we’d complain about the rain or the wind or how very grey the sky is…

        January 21, 2013
  7. forgot to say sorry about my comment on your last post, I had just come back from the pub so it probably sounded a bit weird

    January 20, 2013
    • Oh I didn’t think it was that weird, just a slight change in tempo, now I know why 😉 …Actually I was trying to think of something witty to say back but then I forgot! But I like it…Three Hungry Cows, it’s got a good ring

      January 21, 2013
  8. With all the reports from my friend in Milton Keynes near London about her snow, and the rather remarkable totals for elsewhere around the Isles, I’d wondered about yours. Now I know! And it is lovely. We go crazy for anything, of course – even this morning’s rather heavy fog. A little sleet or ice is exciting, and shuts the freeways down. Snow? Everyone turns child again, and delights in it.

    I think I remember cows in snow-covered fields from my time in the midwest. Surely our huge herds of cows on the ranches stay out in the snow – there isn’t a barn big enough for them all, even if they could be collected. Or perhaps they’re brought in from the far fields ahead of weather – like being sent out to spring pastures later in the year.

    I’ll await your bulletins, and enjoy your photos in the meantime.

    January 21, 2013
    • I think I’m just going soft! They’ve practically got coats as thick as mink so I’m sure they’ll be fine. I was much taken by ‘the secret life of cows’ book which suggested that cattle are happiest when they can choose (why this should be surprising to anyone is the surprise here!)…to be in or out. And I do find that they wander between the field and the shelter.

      A lot of commercial farmers have to keep them in all winter because it’s so wet here and the pasture just gets too poached…just our 3 have managed to make a hell of a mess. But I saw a TV programme about sustainable farming where on one farm they had developed the pasture with a mix of grasses which had formed a thick mat, enabling the cattle to stay out, thus much less intensive – but it took about 25yrs to perfect it and to get really strong enough to withstand the pummelling!

      January 21, 2013
  9. Harriet #

    Oh sorry mean to link to the foggage info http://www.fordhallfarm.com/fordhall_farm.php?pid=9

    January 21, 2013
    • Thanks H! They are doing great things. I didn’t realise the foggage was on sandy soil though…which explains why it might be so successful in their locale.

      January 25, 2013
  10. Beautiful pictures! Particularly like the one of the bird flying (a rook, a raven?) flying over what looks like a slatted roof.

    January 21, 2013
    • Many thanks. It is most likely a Jackdaw…or maybe a crow. We don’t have many rooks near here and though there are ravens up on the moor they don’t venture off it much, they are quite a rare bird these days. Doesn’t the roof just lend itself to a photo?! It’s corrugated iron…or wriggly tin, that ubiquitous agricultural material -gorgeous.

      January 22, 2013
  11. Lovely photos! All best to you and the girls! 🙂

    January 22, 2013
    • Thanks, I will pass on your best to the girls too 🙂 They were looking a little crestfallen this.morning – first night in the open.

      January 22, 2013
  12. Sometimes a photo can say so much more than words…yours are lovely 🙂 I especially love the birds on the feeder. It never gets that cold here and there is always water and a snack for our birds even in the darkest months of winter. Cheers for a lovely post 🙂

    January 22, 2013
    • Aw thanks Fran. I am hoping that some kind fairy will bring me a DSLR so I can take better pictures of the birds 😉

      January 22, 2013
      • Lol…time to have “that talk” with your darling and see if you can’t negotiate it out of the future tense and into the present 😉

        January 22, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. more snow | Retro Bureau

I love hearing what you think too...

