Skip to content

The March of May

Cowgirl Shadow www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Cowgirl goes out in the field…

A cold month but still plenty to see

MayC2013 178Come, follow me

MayD2013 007Triangle FieldMayC2013 153Spring is In the Air

MayB2013 003New Fencing

MayB2013 017Bluebells in Valency Valley

MayB2013 018Wild Garlic in Valency Valley

Traditional English Hereford Heifers in Frost www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.comRemember this?

MayD2013 026Not so cold now eh girls?

MayD2013 019Meadow Speedwell

MayC2013 119Dogs Mercury and Harts Tongue Fern

MayC2013 012Sweet Cicely

MayC2013 160Moles have been VERY busy

MayC2013 171A Mole Mountain

MayD2013 018Sow Thistles in the Barn Wall – birds adore these

MayD2013 024Foxglove and Red Campion Taking Off

MayC2013 144Yellow Rattle

MayB2013 032Wild Garlic, Primrose and Bluebell

MayC2013 006There has been discussion about cows teeth

MayD2013 035Cow Parsley

MayD2013 034Plantain

Moo Cow helps with the bulb planting

Remember this?

MayC2013 184They grew!…wild winds and all

MayD2013 032Ok, relax

MayB2013 027Yes, you too…

35 Comments Post a comment
  1. A wonderful view of nature’s garden (and a little of your own!)

    May 26, 2013
    • It’s been a little slow but it does seem to be finally taking off! Thanks for the comment and reading the blog. Sun is shining today hurrah πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2013
  2. the plants alone sum up the delicate joys of spring, the cows add some weight and the bench is so inviting. Glorious diversity! and yesterday I felt warm as well.

    May 26, 2013
    • It’s quite hard to photograph wild flowers, it all begins to look a bit busy and can fail to convey how truly wonderful it is to be among them. So it’s great that you noticed the more weighty pictures which I add in for a sense of things.

      May 29, 2013
  3. Sheer unmitigated bloody gorgeousness girl :). You just made my heart sing. I can almost taste spring and am having to cram my spring tentacles back inside because they are threatening to burst out and get frostburn! ;). I am blatently stealing every…single…picture…here. Not for nefarious reasons but for using as desktop reminders that there IS gorgeousness out there someplace in the world and we might return to our own transimission at a later date :)…SUE ME! πŸ˜‰

    May 26, 2013
    • Thanks Fran. Heart singing is a lovely way to describe spring and so true. Get those tentacles back under your woollies! Steal away steal away… πŸ™‚

      May 29, 2013
      • Theft is 9/10ths of possession when it comes to social media apparently ;). My tentacles are tingling! πŸ˜‰

        May 30, 2013
  4. The flowers are finally blossoming, have your butterflies arrived too?

    May 26, 2013
    • We have had a few Finn. But they’re not exactly falling over themselves to get out there! Orange-tips and small whites mainly. How about you?

      May 30, 2013
  5. Great photos….I never get enough of wildflowers πŸ™‚

    May 26, 2013
    • Thanks Ingrid. I guess on your travels you get to see plenty! It’s been incredibly late this year as it’s been so cold but always a joy πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2013
  6. Rhonda Crowe #

    Beautiful flowers – good to see it is looking more like spring! The ladies seem to be enjoying it – hope the teeth are ok πŸ™‚ I especially like the barn wall – thank you for sharing your lovely farm with us!

    May 27, 2013
    • Yes, and they don’t even seem to mind the rain on their backs occasionally as its warmed up a bit. When I first came to Cornwall it was all the amazing stone walls which really struck me – and as you can see they still do! Glad to meet a fellow wall lover πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2013
  7. Very lovely! I want to get down with those bluebells and smell that wild garlic.

    May 27, 2013
  8. Yay! So happy to see these wonderful shots! Happy Spring!

    May 27, 2013
  9. franion #

    OMG, what a place of paradise.

    May 27, 2013
    • Lots of painting opportunities here! Artists of all sorts are drawn to the light…when it isn’t INCESSANTLY raining πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2013
  10. Katherine Kearns #

    Gorgeous pictures… I love your self portrait Cowgirl! There are snowdrifts of wild garlic here and in Wales where we’ve just visited. Up in the mountains things are a little further behind but the green is still glowing and the primroses are still out. Looks like it will be a good year for wortleberries (whinberries) too!

    May 28, 2013
    • Thanks. My horse wandered off obviously πŸ˜‰

      Wales must be stupendous now – with all those berries I can sense jam making at the cottage…

      May 30, 2013
  11. Your pictures are a joy and you’re cows look so happy!

    May 29, 2013
    • Make that “your” cows look so happy – and what about their teeth..?

      May 29, 2013
      • Why thank you very much Sevenacres! Well, we couldn’t decide if a cow has top teeth as we have never seen them. More research needed. But I’m sure they must, as they have to grind a huge amount of fibrous matter.

        Haha some of my regular visitors are a bit upset that I’ve changed the name in the banner…they really like thinkingcowgirl!

        May 30, 2013
      • I was curious and looked it up (which you probably have by now too). A “dental pad” replaces their upper fronts although they do have molars up and down. And thinkingcowgirl is a good moniker but you must go with what you feel πŸ™‚

        May 31, 2013
  12. I have never ever seen Mole mountains like this…. Jawdropping photos!
    πŸ™‚

    May 30, 2013
    • I’ve got a theory that because most landowners hate moles and try to get rid of them they have all congregated on ours and are just getting bigger and fatter on all the lovely worms which live under our uncultivated, unfertilised soil!

      May 31, 2013
      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        May 31, 2013
  13. Ahhh! I feel mellow just looking at these. And you really look like a cowgirl in that snap you shadowy one, you!
    Love the flower names – so… English!

    May 31, 2013
    • That’s my sun hat…I was just about to take a picture of the buttercups when I noticed the shadow…too hard to resist! I think the names are one of my favourite things too.

      May 31, 2013
  14. But you’re still thinkingcowgirl! You just happen to be a thinkingcowgirl who likes to wander her ten acres and beyond. It makes sense to me!

    The greens are lovely. I was in Mississippi some years ago in April, and there were the same greens – it was all meadowy and lovely.

    It’s interesting to see your flowers. We have primrose, and wild garlic and plantain, but many of them are new to me. We do have a prairie parsley that’s native. The shape is the same, but the colors and “heft” are different.

    I kept thinking about how happy the girls must be to be living now in such a wonderful environment. They do look contented and happy. And they are a good, weighty counterpoint to all that ethereal light shining around.

    “Spring is in the air” is my favorite photo – a perfect balance of everything!

    June 4, 2013
  15. Exactly, shoreacres, exactly!

    A weighty counterpoint in the photographs…and now getting a bit weighty themselves…too much of the good life πŸ™‚ Fencing may have to be deployed. Oh, it does make me happy to think that they are happy…I am really dreading the TB test, but have got my fingers crossed.

    I was amazed by the lushness of Louisiana…actually I think we did make a foray into Mississippi so I guess it’s quite similar. Are the primroses etc European escapes?

    I’ve just got a subscription to Orion magazine, a present from my sister – in it there is a readers description of Lubbock, Texas. I thought of you and your flat land.

    June 8, 2013
  16. Gue' #

    What marvelous pictures. I see some plants I’ve heard of but never met.

    The girls look very happy.

    Great jumpin’ gosh almighty! What kind of mutant monster moles do you have? We get the occasional mole run but I’ve never seen dirt mounded up like that. I thought you had gophers or something!

    June 10, 2013
    • Thanks Gue. Those mole hills are a little on the large size aren’t they!?

      Glad you like the pictures, I have to say I can’t stop taking them…just hard to choose which ones to post…

      June 10, 2013
  17. Finally made it to the blog… love your photos, hope all is wonderful at home x

    June 25, 2013

I love hearing what you think too...

