Skip to content

My Year of Cows 2013

I have not stopped looking at cows. Here is my selection for 2013. The first part of the year was a bit barren but soon the cows were appearing all over the place.

Herds

cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Roman Cow

Part of the underground warehouses found in Narbonne, France

cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Roman Cow Narbonne France

Portraits

There are a couple of painters who only paint cows – and why not

MayB2013 009 October2103 002 JulyC2013 123 JulyC2013 121 JulyC2013 120 JulyC2013 032 Aug2013 023 Aug2013 021 Aug2013 008 Aug2013 005 163 160 110 018 015 001

cow herds www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

This is not a cow this is a rabbit

The Roundabout Cows of Burgundy

because the Burgundians take their Charolais seriously

October2103 057 October2103 047a October2103 044a October2103 058a

And The Very Fine

Traditional English Herefords www.thinkingcowgirl.wordpress.com

Happy New Year

50 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful photos!

    January 15, 2014
  2. brilliant!
    You should get a Vistaprint calendar made online. I did one of some pics I took of Modernist houses in Palm Springs and it looks quite professional and cost £10.00!!!!

    January 15, 2014
  3. excellent! definitely worth waiting for.

    January 15, 2014
    • I have become rather involved in writing poems hence the lack of participation in the blogging world lately. It has taken me over. They say it takes you this way.

      Glad you like the cows.

      January 16, 2014
  4. And they are looking back at you! Wonderful! 🙂

    January 15, 2014
    • That is one of the things that is so interesting about cows – their curious, worried expressions! Thanks for the visit and the comment, much appreciated.

      January 16, 2014
  5. Happy New Year! I haven’t been to Burgundy so missed out on the roundabout cows – a bit like the concrete cows in Milton Keynes 🙂

    January 15, 2014
    • It was a weird experience because the person driving round it couldn’t really go that slow so it was really hard to get a shot! But in the end I quite liked the half views 🙂 Interesting about the concrete cows of MK I’d forgotten about those, thank you.

      January 16, 2014
    • I have a blog friend in MK and she’s never said a word about the cows! And she being a Yorkshire lass, herself. I’ll have to give her a hard time about it.

      January 18, 2014
  6. Ah so many lovely photos! May this year be filled with even more happy moo moments!
    xx

    January 15, 2014
    • I’m hoping so too…maybe your mum could send me a pic to include? Thanks for the comment x x

      January 16, 2014
  7. Rhonda Crowe #

    Excellent way to greet the new year! Beautiul photos – thanks for sharing with other cow lovers 🙂

    January 15, 2014
    • I think this is the blog for a cow lover! Happy New Year Rhonda thanks for following along with the story. 🙂

      January 16, 2014
  8. g #

    Beautiful…and your bunny photo is the winner for me again!! X

    January 15, 2014
    • The black bunny was a very exciting discovery – I think domestic ones must escape and mate with the wild ones. I didn’t have much time to get the shot as it was incredibly nervous but not too bad with the buttercups! x

      January 16, 2014
  9. love these! This last is yours, right? I feel a bit like I know them.
    I thought of you when I read about the man in Japan who won’t leave his radioactive cows. Love that guy. I’ll send you a link of a good article on him if you don’t.

    January 16, 2014
    • Oh yes do that thanks I haven’t heard this story. I know how attached one can become! Yes, those are mine, well spotted (aren’t they lovely) 🙂

      January 16, 2014
      • Yes they are so lovely and soft looking. Soulful. Here’s the article. Very moving.

        January 16, 2014
  10. Love that photo of the Jersey’s face. Awesome pictures 🙂

    January 16, 2014
    • She is particularly photogenic true! Thanks for stopping by you’re always welcome 🙂

      January 16, 2014
  11. Anonymous #

    Hi, I wondered what breed the brown/white/brown cow is 8th up from the rabbit?

    January 16, 2014
  12. Lovely. Lots of gorgeous creatures here, particularly that white cow with the black nose! I’m less enamoured with the concrete cows, and why no painted cows? But you don’t need them, you’ve got the real thing. May 2014 be just as cow-full.

    January 16, 2014
    • Thanks Hamer. I know I know paintings would be good but I only photograph what I see and either I didn’t see any cow paintings (except on your blog of course) I know hard to believe or I didn’t have my camera. I’ll be along to yours to see what treats you’ve been posting soon. It’s just a quagmire out there at the moment….

      January 16, 2014
  13. Don’t you just love cows? They say that there are two kinds of people. Dog people, and Cat people. I would add the Cow people. They are the people that stand back while the dog and cat people go at it with pickaxes and simply watch and wait till they have finished brawling and then step over the detritus and wander off to graze on life’s delicious pastures :). I count myself to be a cow person and a most blissfully happy one at that :). Here’s to 2014 in cows 🙂

    January 17, 2014
    • What a great image. It’s so wet out there it’s turning into mud wrestling. You would not believe how much hay a cow can get through! Here’s to a great cow filled 2014 and lots of lovely life pastures to graze on.

      January 18, 2014
      • Oh I think I would…I used to live on a farm as a kid remember ;). I also remember having to go out with dad on the tractor and keep up with him by hurling hay biscuits out to the cows… hard work but great fun 🙂

        January 18, 2014
    • Oh yes! Middle aged sieve brain alert. 🙂

      January 18, 2014
  14. The variety is just stunning. Those long, shaggy ones are marvelous, and also that one with the tight-curled hair. We have Charolais mixed in with other breeds, and they seem to have a distinct personality. Aristocratic, I’d say.

    Awfully nice to see your post and the smashing photos. The rabbit was quite a treat – hope you haven’t suffered because of the nasty weather over there.

    January 18, 2014
    • The weather is driving us mad! We’re lucky that we’re fairly high so no flooding but I was on my way to a poetry workshop this morning and had to turn back because the river fowey had burst it’s banks all over the road in the valley. The fields have turned into terribly sticky bogs and the one where the cows live … well, don’t ask! Really wish we had a barn where we could house them temporarily – hopefully soon.

      Aren’t the cows beautiful? Haha I couldn’t resist putting the rabbit in, pleased that you are so taken with it. It was such a surprise to see a black one I just had to try and include it somewhere. We don’t have so many charolais over here because they are fairly high maintenance in the winter, needing lots of extra feed.

      Thanks for sticking with my erratic blogging! Looking forward to seeing what you’ve been up to soon.

      January 18, 2014
  15. Gue' #

    I am in cow heaven! Look at those faces. How could anyone not like cows?

    I’d love to have a cow painting. Can’t have the real thing – a pox on the zoning ordinances in surburbia! A cow painting would be the next best thing.

    Love the little black bunny nibbling in the grass.

    MK has concrete cows? I’ll have to join Shore in teasing our Yorkshire born friend for not mentioning them!

    January 18, 2014
    • Ah thanks Gue glad you like the cow pics. I wonder why your friend didn’t mention the MK cows!? What do you make of these cow artists…

      http://www.rowleygallery.com/Artist-Jelly-Green.aspx

      http://www.wowcow.co.uk/

      January 18, 2014
      • Gue' #

        I like those! There’s one with a tipped head and quizzical look on her face on wowcow that I adore.

        I do have one framed print with a barn and cows. It was given to me for Christmas about 10 years ago by my late brother. It’s nothing fancy but I treasure it.

        January 25, 2014
  16. Wonderful pics! I love the highland cattle (and yours too of course) with their long horns and rough coats.

    January 19, 2014
    • The highlands are impressive. I was particularly taken with the whitish one, I’d never seen one like that before.

      January 21, 2014
  17. I especially like that one that’s pretending to be a sheep, with a curly white coat. What a lovely gallery!

    January 19, 2014
  18. Katherine Kearns #

    I love your cow pictures! They are ripe to be made into a calendar… and the surprise bunny; tee hee! We have a roundabout next to my office with black bunnies on it. I thought they were ‘melanistic’ rabbits which is the opposite of albino, but I may have made that up.

    We hope to get down your way sometime this year and catch up with you and your cows xxx

    January 20, 2014
    • melanistic I like it, must look it up. Hey you’re the second person who’s suggested a calendar, maybe I’ll do it haha careful what you wish for you never know what will land on the mat next year! Very much looking forward to seeing you some time. xx

      January 21, 2014
  19. Fantastic selection of photos! They all seem so full of character. Although I must admit, my favourite must be the black rabbit, as it was so unexpected!

    January 20, 2014
    • Thanks Rachel, have you heard the expression ‘melanistic’ in reference to black rabbits? It was a surprise for me to see one too!

      January 21, 2014
      • Not in rabbits no, but I’ve seen melanistic pheasants!

        January 21, 2014
  20. I completely adore them ALL. 🙂 Happy New Year! (I’m a bit late!) These photographs just make me smile big!

    January 26, 2014
    • Hi Lemony a big smile in January can only be a bonus! Thanks for stopping by good to see you.

      January 27, 2014
  21. Hi, Susan! These photographs look so much like paintings that I had to look twice at some of them to believe they were photographs! The most beautiful animals! And I see your own two lovelies at the end. I know because I recognize the wall of the house and the trough. (And I do remember what your babies look like.) I love the short legs and curly bangs. I think I these animals would end up being pets for me. I will never forget having seen the cows wandering between the old house and buildings and into the garden like old friends visiting. I enjoyed the visit very much! 🙂

    January 28, 2014
    • Thanks for the visit George, I’m so pleased you like the photographs. They are kind of pets though we do have them to manage the land. I think I love them more than they love me! They have an inbuilt fear of humans and I’m not surprised, us being the most efficient predator on earth! I’m looking forward to them going into calf soon.

      February 5, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Burnham Beeches | Frames of Reference

I love hearing what you think too...